Counting the Omer – Day 36

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day thirty six, which is five weeks and one day of the Omer. Hayom yom shloshim ve sesh she hem hamisha shavuot ve yom ehad laOmer.

Today is Khesed be Yesod, kindness within sexuality, grace within intimacy

We open ourselves up to those we love. That is the secret of intimacy, really – vulnerability lies at its core. We take risks, extend trust, take the first step. Sometimes, we get slapped down and then we get hurt – and sometimes we are the ones doing the hurting. It is so hard, when one is trying to reach out to remember that others are doing likewise and to respond with care. When I am vulnerable, I feel scared and when I am scared, I am brusque, thoughtless, sometimes rude. At that point, I might be hurting someone else who is trying to be vulnerable with me. If I can stay aware of their fear as well as mine, if I can be kind to them while we both are vulnerable and scared – maybe I can build intimacy between us.

Today, we recognize the vulnerability that people show when they are intimate with us, and we respond kindly.

Posted on May 12, 2015, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment