Counting the Omer – Day 35

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day thirty five, which is five weeks of the Omer. Hayom yom shloshim ve hamesh she hem hamisha shavuot laOmer.

Today is Malkhut be Hod, nobility within gratitude, majesty within humility

I need to remember that gratitude need not come from weakness. Humility is not the same as humiliation. I need to let go of that assumption and remember that humility is knowing who I am both with those who are more capable than me and those who are less so. And when people are less capable than me in an area, I need to remember that this is not a reason for pride toward them or a reason to disdain them – it is a reason to be grateful. Also, I need to remember that they too are holy, are majestic. For every one of us, there is something we are terrific at – and in any area, even one where we have lacks, there is something we can do to help.

When I, in my position of majesty, work with a student or a child, help someone who is stuck, or suggestions to someone confused, or simply give company to someone lonely, it’s easy for me to think pretty well of myself. I need to remember that this person is also helping me – without the student, I could not teach, for example. Without that lonely person spending time with me – I would be pretty lonely myself. So, within my majesty, I need to be grateful. I need to notice, to remember, and to thank those who are below me on one of life’s hierarchies for the help they provide. When a kid gives me a crumpled up picture done on the back of a bill, or a student says that working with me was cool, when a friend sends me an ‘I miss you’ text or a family member asks for help with a task she’s been fiercely independent about – I need to remember to notice and say thank you.

Today, we express gratitude to those we provide for when they do little things to help.

Posted on May 12, 2015, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

