Omer 28

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day twenty-eight which is four weeks of the Omer. Hayom yom esrim ve shmone she hem arba’a shavuot laOmer.

Today is Malkhut be Netzakh, majesty within power, nobility within victory

Sometimes, I don’t use my power for good. Seriously, I have power, I should always be using it to help others, make the world a better place, to act nobly like God. What happens, though, is I decide I’m powerless. Who do my opinions matter to, anyway? No one. This gives me a curious and somewhat toxic freedom. I can say anything I want because my words don’t really affect anyone, right? Sometimes, wrong. My words, my actions, my carelessness, my acting out of negativity and feelings of low self-worth finds someone’s sensitive place and hurts and does harm. This is not Malkhut, the nobility that God wants us to have. And sometimes, I’m right and they don’t. My words and actions don’t matter at all and people aren’t affected by them one bit. But is that the world I want to be living in? Is that the reality I want to create? One in which what I say doesn’t matter? If I speak or act carelessly from weakness, people will stop treating what I say and do as important. If I want what I say taken seriously, I need to speak with nobility, recognizing that my words and actions have power and acting as such.

Today, I remember I am powerful and so must remember to be noble in my actions.

Posted on May 10, 2017, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

