Omer 25

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day twenty-five which is three weeks and four days of the Omer. Hayom yom esrim ve hamesh she hem shlosha shavuot ve arba’a yammim laOmer.

Today is Netzakh be Netzakh, power within power, victory within victory.

What is a victory within a victory? I don’t know, sometimes I feel like I don’t win much. But I do, though. There are many things I win from silly online contests to success at motivating a student, from becoming better at something to simply snuggling through a show. I have hundreds of daily victories. But what is the victory within that victory? Well, if I don’t notice that I’ve won, that’s just sad. I miss out on a perfectly good victory. I undermine it and sour it. This, of course, saps my strength, so I’m less able to complete the next challenge I face. If I can notice and appreciate my victories, I can be that much more successful at future tasks. That is the better choice

Today, I notice, I accept and I appreciate each and every one of my victories, no matter how small they are or how hard they are to see.

Posted on May 7, 2017, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

