Omer 14

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day fourteen which is two weeks of the Omer. Hayom yom arba-es’re she hem shtey shavuot laOmer.

Today is Malkhut be Gevura, majesty within strength, nobility within might.

Oh, no, I don’t think so. I don’t feel strong or majestic. I feel old and worn paper-thin. I feel crumpled. I feel done like dinner. And still, I am trying to do the next thing because the next thing needs to be done. It may not be very majestic but that’s about all I have, strength wise. I’m going to keep trying to do all the little things I need to get done between today and tomorrow, be that prep or marking, writing or organization. I am going to prioritise doing daily tasks because those are the ones that can so easily get lost (I hope one day I can actually have a habit of getting things done. It will keep stuff like this from happening, maybe.)

How is this majestic? Where is the nobility? I don’t know – maybe kings and queens get tired and worn out and sit there with bleary eyes trying to read one more report on the state of the country’s budget and another set of opinion pols. Maybe it’s not the godliness of majesty within strength that I should look at – maybe it’s the humanity. Because no matter how tired they are, kings and queens have to keep going. They can’t say “I think I won’t be king or queen tomorrow.” Be they good rulers or bad, capable or otherwise, they still have to be there the next day.

I can’t project majesty and win in the whole acting nobly thing – but I can do the next task whatever that may be. That’s the kind of “nobility” I can manage – I will be there the next day.

Today, I reach deep into my reserves of strength, and I do just one more right thing – and one more. That has some nobility to it after all.

 

Posted on April 26, 2017, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

