Omer 13

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day thirteen which is one week and six days of the Omer. Hayom yom shlosh-es’re she hem shavua ehad ve shisha yamim laOmer.

Today is Yesod be Gevura, privacy within strength, intimacy within might.

Today, I respect those for whom privacy is the aspect of Yesod (sod means secret) that matters, but I acknowledge for me, intimacy is the side that I turn to. The two are very connected, of course – we are private about our most intimate moments, but it’s a question of where we draw our strength. I get my strength from close times spent together with people I love. That’s my Yesod be Gevura. It can be one person or 20, so long as they are people that I’m interacting with in a positive and sharing manner. I know there are those for whom their strength is privacy – separation from others, possibly all others. That’s a solid alternative. Most of us probably like a bit of both. So, we acknowledge that we have strength that comes from Yesod, however we chose to experience it.

Today, may both intimate and private moments contribute to making you feel strong.

Posted on April 24, 2017, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

