Omer 9

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day nine which is one week and two days of the Omer. Hayom yom tesha she hem shavua ehad vey shtey yamim laOmer.

Today is Gevura be Gevura, strength within strength, might within might.

Today I think about making a decision. Because I think it’s important that we make them and that we make the right one, but even the wrong one is better than none. It changes the way I see the world completely. I always think of the poem by Robert Frost with “two paths diverged in the wood and I…” and I think, the change comes the moment I step on the other path. I mean, I’m still in the same place. Nothing has changed. Nothing has happened – but yet, as soon as I make that decision, everything is different. I’m on another path. This new path, this new decision, gives me strength I didn’t know I had. I don’t even need to speak it. Just knowing I’ve made it makes me powerful enough to do things in a different way – gives me strength within the strength that is visible.

Today, I make decisions about my future. Making decisions will give me strength.

Posted on April 21, 2017, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

