Omer 8

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day eight which is one week and one day of the Omer. Hayom yom shmone she hem shavua ehad vey om ehad laOmer.

Today is Khesed be Gevurah, kindness within strength, generosity within might.

It’s easier to be strong when one is kind, actually. I am stronger when I give a gift, when I put my own needs and desires to one side to care for others. This isn’t a mealy-mouthed, weak pathetic sort of “I’ll do what you ask because I know it’ll make you happy” kindness. This is a mighty “I have so much that I have extra and I can share that extra with you” kindness. This feels good. And sometimes, I just have to see things a different way and I have enough. I, in fact, have too much. I have so much that I can be kind, share. I guess it’s easier to be kind when one is strong too. Looks like strength and kindness play well together, so long as it’s the right kind of kindness and the right kind of strength, those based in each other and extending outward from that foundation.

Today, I laugh because it feels so good to have so much, that I have more to give away. I am joyfully kind, from strength.

Posted on April 21, 2017, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

