Omer 4

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day four of the Omer. Hayom yom revyi laOmer.

Today is Netzakh be Khesed, victory within kindness, success within love.

And what if we don’t succeed? Today, I face squarely all the times I didn’t. Because sometimes, I don’t. I snap at people instead of explaining, I waste my time instead of doing the next task, I daydream instead of staying focused, I see my needs instead of anyone else’s. So, how do I deal with failures of kindness? Well, I heard recently that the best thing was to do it right, the second-best thing was to do it wrong, and the worst thing was not to do it. So, today I acknowledge that sometimes, even being aware of my failures is a victory, because it means I’m thinking about how to be more kind. That focus, that may lead to my remembering a small opportunity to say Hello, to be kind and to succeed in loving.

 Today, I recognize and learn from failures in kindness. They are a step on the path to victory.

Posted on April 15, 2017, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

