Omer – Day 47

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom arbaim ve sheva laOmer, shehem shisha shavuot ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is day forty seven of the Omer, which is six weeks and five days of the Omer.

hod be malkhut – gratitude within majesty; praise within glory

At each new moon, there is the chance to sing the Hallel, psalms of praise to God, with lovely melodies and translations. Recently, a new month started, and it was once again an opportunity to use God’s name properly, in praise.  Since today is gratitude in majesty, it’s a good day to talk about thanking God.

I complain a lot. Personally, I think it’s one of my rights as a Jewish woman to occasionally be able to whine about how hard things are, especially to and about God. I see nothing wrong with that – I have a crazy life, I’m way too busy, I struggle with money, and Canada’s weather and road conditions…. Except that sometimes I forget. I forget how lucky I am, how much fun my job and my family are, how plentiful and tasty my meals are, how beautiful spring is (I haven’t travelled that much, but I’ve gone to a few other places and Canada remains tops for sheer gorgeous sights.), how good each day is.

So, I say “Darn it all, God…” and I forget that I’m supposed to say God’s name with respect and love. Then Hallel comes along and reminds me. When I praise God I remember – things are pretty wonderful and I am really lucky. Hallel grounds me in God, and acts as a connection between me and God.

When I name something, I make it more real. God created the whole world through naming – it’s powerful. When I say God’s name in praise, I make the good, beautiful, happy, loving world I want to live in more real. Today, I praise God’s majesty and manifest it through praise.

Posted on June 9, 2016, in Omer, Sivan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

