Omer – Day 40

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom arbaim laOmer, shehem hamisha shavuot ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is day forty of the Omer, which is five weeks and five days of the Omer.

hod be yesod – gratitude within intimacy; humility within romantic love

The flip side of power is being able to realize that I need help sometimes, to ask for it, and to be grateful when I get it. I was listening to a speech on Thursday, which is when this was supposed to be done, and they said that it actually leads to an increase in affection when you ask for favours. Seriously, if you just ask someone to do something small for you, every day, over time, they will like you more. Doing so isn’t easy, though, because it means admitting you need help and that is super-embarrassing. Many of us would rather have no friends, no family, no anything so long as we don’t have to embarrassingly admit we can’t do it all perfectly, and need help. As for asking for help, the words choke in our mouths.

It keeps going. Sometimes, by the time I ask for help, the words are squeezed out of me. I feel angry and resentful that I had to ask. I don’t feel grateful at all. I start thinking that maybe they should have thought of me ahead of time and just done it without my having to ask! And why should I say thank you for something that was due me anyway? If they really loved me… That’s ugly. That’s not going to improve intimacy even a little.

I’m going to see if I can tie these to the 10 commandments – hey, why not, right? It could be fun! I like the ’10 commandments for kids’ we came up with a few years ago, so really, it’s good to use those.ones.  So, we changed ‘bear false witness’ to ‘tell the truth’ and that’s what today is about really. Today, we tell the truth about ourselves. We avoid bearing false witness and presenting ourselves as better than we are. I am not all powerful. I am not complete in and of myself. I need help, and I can ask for it. I am grateful when I get it. That kind of attitude will surely lead to increased intimacy.

 

 

Posted on June 4, 2016, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

