Omer – Day 35

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom shloshim ve hamesh laOmer, shehem hamisha shavuot laOmer.

Today is day thirty  five of the Omer, which is five weeks of the Omer.

malkhut be hod – majesty within gratitude; nobility within appreciation

So, occasionally, I get stuck with images. The traits on this day always end up making me think of the queen doing a little wave to her admiring audience, and this year, I am seeing Elvis saying “thank you, thank you very much…”. It’s dreadful. Gratitude can be a terrible thing. It can be full of resentment (thanks for taking care of that – now, you probably think I owe you, and besides, I could have done it myself,) disappointment (aw, I wanted to succeed at this on my own, and now I have to thank you,) and entitlement (yes, of course you’ll take care of that for me – I deserve it because I’m special.) Sometimes, gratitude is just not pretty.

So, it is up to me to make sure the “thank you”s I give come from the heart, and include some mental thought prior, to let go of my wanting the world to be a certain way. Once I relinquish any expectations or disappointments, once I realize that I don’t owe anyone anything when I say thank-you, and they probably don’t owe me, then I can offer real gratitude, and that kind of gratitude is what nobility and majesty should really be about.

Today, I’ll strive to make my thank-you’s real ones.

Posted on May 28, 2016, in Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

