Omer – Day 33

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom shloshim ve shalosh laOmer, Lag BaOmer, shehem arba’a shavuot ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is day thirty  three of the Omer, Lag BaOmer, which is four weeks and five days of the Omer.

netzakh be hod – victory within gratitude; power within humility.

The thing is, I’m not perfect. I get easily confused. For example, not only am I two days behind (again! how does this happen?) I wrote the Gratitude within Gratitude post for day 32, when it was supposed to be written for day 33. I don’t do things in the best way possible. If there’s a choice between working for a long-term goal or enjoying myself right now, far too often, I’ll not chose the long-term goal. I have many challenges and those are only two of them.

My recognizing that – accepting it, heck, even being grateful for it – is the first thing I have to do to make any changes to who I am. First, I have to say that I have this challenge, and separate out the parts that are positives. I’m easily confused? Well, that gives me access to a whole lot of creativity that I might not have had otherwise. I like my Gratitude within gratitude post, even if it was on the wrong day. I focus on short-term goals too much? If I turn that into living in the present, it can be a very good thing.

Only then can I start to slowly work towards change, towards doing things the way I want to do them.

Once I recognize where I am and appreciate those aspects that are good, I get enormous power – the power to become a better and happier person.

Posted on May 28, 2016, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

