Omer – Day 30

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom shloshim laOmer shehem arba’a shavuot ve shtei yammim laOmer.

Today is day thirty  of the Omer, which is four weeks and two days of the Omer.

gevura be hod – strength within gratitude; might within thankfulness.

Because there are days when I feel like I’m not succeeding – like I haven’t done what I’m supposed to, and all my efforts have, like the Queen said in Alice In Wonderland, kept me from falling further and further behind. So, I need to stop focusing so much on those big earth-shattering changes that didn’t happen. I didn’t finish everything. I didn’t solve the world’s problems. I haven’t even met the deadlines I had to meet. I focus instead on what I did accomplish. Maybe I spent 5 good minutes talking to someone? A few moments studying? I played a game? I kept up with a good habit?

I can appreciate the things I do. I can be grateful – both to myself and to God who gives me strength and courage when I ask and put in the time to connect to God – for the little things I did get done. There’s a lot of strength in that. Instead of saying ‘it’s useless and I can’t get anything done so why bother?’ I’m saying, “thanks for letting me get that tiny bit done. That was good. Now for a little bit more…Maybe today is the day I’ll actually meet that deadline!”

Today, I find strength in expressing gratitude, to myself and to God, for the little things I do accomplish.

Posted on May 23, 2016, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

