Omer – Day 29

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom esrim ve tesha laOmer shehem arba’a shavuot ve yom ehad laOmer.

Today is day twenty nine  of the Omer, which is four weeks and one day of the Omer.

khesed be hod – kindness within gratitude; love within thankfulness.

Ah, the gratitude week. This is the week of abundance, of realizing that we have more than enough. Maybe because Jews are natural grumblers (at least many of the Jews I know) that God has specifically told us to be grateful about what we have. Stories like “bring a goat in the house” and “the kvetcher’s itch”, songs like “to life” – they all suggest being grateful for stuff. Me – I’m as much of a complainer as the next person. I whine like you wouldn’t believe! Gratitude comes harder for me – I’ve lost important people in my life who felt that I was not at all grateful for what they did. I had it on my daily checklist for years – have I thanked three people for something today? (My daily checklist is a bizarre little place, I realize.)

The thing is, I love gratitude. Getting thanks and compliments feels terrific. I like it when people thank me and tell me I’m doing something right. I like that A LOT. It is a kindness to pay a compliment or express gratitude – a kindness within gratitude. Not just being generically thankful (yes, God is good despite her nasty sense of humour,) but expressing it to others. That’s worth doing.

Today, I say thank you to those who make my world a bit better. I compliment others. I am kind within gratitude.

 

Posted on May 22, 2016, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

