Omer – Day 24

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom esrim ve arba laOmer shehem shlosha shavuot ve shlosha yammim laOmer.

Today is day twenty four  of the Omer, which is three weeks and three days of the Omer.

Tiferet be netzakh – beauty within victory; grace within conquest.

There’s two types of victory – over others and over oneself. And I must say, winning over oneself is beautiful. (I enjoy winning over others too – and hate it when I lose. Congrats to all of you who have time for walking this week and so routinely beat my step-count – but oooh, you make me crazy (-: ! Back to positive writing.) There’s a lot of satisfaction to having accomplished something and knowing I did a good job. I don’t always have control over my bad habits, but every time I resist a temptation, every time I choose to do the right thing, I get the reward of feeling good about myself and that is pretty beautiful. Now, the trick is to remember that in the moment, instead of in hindsight…

Today, I will remind myself of how good it will feel and look to make the right choices.

Posted on May 17, 2016, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

