Omer – Day 19

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom tisha-esre laOmer shehem shtey shavuot ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is day nineteen of the Omer, which is two weeks and five days of the Omer.

Hod be Tiferet – gratitude within beauty; humility within grace

The world isn’t always beautiful. Sometimes there are bad things. Sometimes I make bad decisions. Sometimes, I can’t even see the beauty outdoors for the mess inside my own head. So, I stop. I focus on the very, very small. I notice the flavour of a clementine, the LOL in a text, the glint of a smile, the chirp of a bird at the feeder, getting a question right in a crossword puzzle, a hug from a child. They’re little things. They inspire me to little tasks. Maybe I can brush my teeth? Do 10 minutes more of walking? Do a 3-minute online French lesson? Those small successes are beautiful too.

And these little small beauties are easy to be grateful for. I am grateful for the beauty. I am grateful for that smile, that hug, the text, the bird…The bad things are still there. Noticing the good things and being grateful for them doesn’t make the ugly parts of the world disappear. It does help with the sadness and ugliness, though. Somehow, even horrible things are better with a smile and a hug.

Today, I will focus on little things to be grateful for.

Posted on May 13, 2016, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

