Omer – Day 15

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom hamisha-esrey laOmer shehem shtey shavuot ve yom ehad laOmer.

Today is day fifteen of the Omer, which is two weeks and one day of the Omer.

Khesed be Tiferet – kindness within beauty; love within balance

It is the week of beauty and here, as spring has arrived in full force, that has never been more appropriate. The flowers are out, the trees are blossoming, everything is pink and white and green and gorgeous. The world celebrates tiferet. It is also mother’s day, and I think of all my mothers, living and passed away, and think, “wow, how on Earth did you get it all done???” Because, frankly, I can’t. I put enough energy into getting the housework done (virtually impossible in and of itself) and my job gets behind. I spend time on my job, and I realize I haven’t seen my family in 3 weeks. I manage to spend time with my family and I’m way behind on taking care of myself. (Did you know, according to some studies, the amount of sleep I get means I’m always drunk? Explains so much!) Meanwhile, the house is a disgusting mess and I’m behind on work again…

I don’t know how you did it, but I suspect kindness and love, both for others and for yourselves were involved. Today, I strive for the balance that a mom needs, which, in those rare successful moments, is truly beautiful.

Posted on May 8, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

