Omer – Day 12

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom shtem-esrey laOmer shehem shavua ehad ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is day twelve of the Omer, which is one week and five days of the Omer.

Hod be Gevura – gratitude within strength; humility within limits

Today, I notice how every trait has its dark side. Gevura is strength, an unbounded trait that lets me do more and more. But it’s also limits, which prevents me from acting in certain ways (theoretically at least.) Hod is gratitude, which fills my heart with love to others. But it’s also humility, a necessary right attitude in viewing myself. Not that the dark sides are bad – limits and humility are good and important traits – but they’re less aggressively cheerful.

It’s easy for me to be grateful today, for the strength and support shown by others – for an incredible family who poured out love and support for me and mine yesterday, making a brightness in a very sad space. There are very many people who make our lives a better place. I celebrate that today. I would like to leave it there –

but there’s that other side. I remind myself that I have work to do. I need to have the humility to accept my imperfections, and the strength to do the next  even if I don’t want to. There are behaviours to which I must say “no”. There are distasteful jobs that I must chose to do.

So, today, I accept where I am right now. I ask for strength to do all that I have to do and to be a source of strength to others, as they were to me. And for all that I have gotten from others, I offer deep and abiding gratitude.

Posted on May 5, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

