Omer – Day 9

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom tesha laOmer shehem shavua ehad veshtei yammim laOmer.

Today is day nine of the Omer, which is one week and two days of the Omer.

Gevura be Gevura – strength within strength; greatness within greatness

What do you do after a tragedy? What do you do after a mistake? What do you do after an ending? There are things that go wrong in this world. Some of them are God-caused. People get sick and die, other people move far away, some people just say the wrong thing. Totally different sized problems, and only a small sample, they’re all ones that can throw me for a loop. Some problems are me-caused. I  can have a full-fledged panic breakdown, I can fall into addictive behaviours and lose hours on novels and computer games, I can miss a deadline, and so on. Those can throw me off too, making me think that there’s no point in trying.

All I can do is go on. It is SO not easy. The voices in my head tell me to stop. I am certain I can’t do anything. I may as well give up now and go read a novel. I’m not strong enough to cope. That’s when I need to reach for the  strength within strength – the strength to do one small right thing, no matter how sad or hopeless or disappointed or frustrated I feel. I can do the little things – dishes and laundry, marking and notes, writing and phone calls. I do them, and they replenish my strength, little by little.

Today, I reach for the strength within strength and do one more item on my to-do list.

Posted on May 3, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

