Omer – Day 7

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom shiv’i laOmer shehem shavua ehad laOmer.

Today is day 7 of the Omer, which is week 1 of the Omer.

Malkhut be Khesed – Nobility within kindness; rule within love

There are people who make being kind look effortless. Who, when it is time to make hard choices, chose to do the right thing. They seem genuinely glad to do the favour. From them, kindness just flows, without making anyone look bad, without worrying anyone. I am not one of these people. For me, kindness is an ongoing struggle, a set of rules that I have to follow, because otherwise I simply won’t act in a kind and considerate manner. I have to rule myself to do the right thing, it being one of the hardest tasks on my to-do list just to stop being selfish and to think of someone other than myself. Today, I dedicate myself to this task once again. May I be kind…may I rule myself enough to allow for that kindness.

Posted on May 2, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

