Omer – Day 6

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom shishi laOmer.

Today is day 6 of the Omer.

Yesod be Khesed – Foundation within kindness; physical love within spiritual love

On Friday, my mother in law, Peg Lilliman passed away from metastatic cancer and I loved her and I miss her. I am trying to move on from that, but it is more difficult than I expected. I would much rather not. It feels like a failure, oddly, when someone close to you dies – if only you had done something or other differently…and so functioning becomes difficult. Instead, I hide, in my books, in my computer, in anything that will keep me from thinking.

But Peg was loved. Her family, her friends, her coworkers: many different wonderful people loved her. Friday was a love day in the omer. Yesod is foundation and lust and so, a kind of love – physical and animal and a place where we can feel connection and relationship in our bones. Peg had that in full measure. People who loved her, loved all of her. And Yesod was held within Khesed, loving kindness, charity, grace – the spiritual selfless love we strive for but rarely achieve, where we build connection and relationship in our souls. Peg had that too – because she built connection and relationship as easy as breathing.

Today, I will remember Peg as someone who exemplified love.

Posted on May 1, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

