Omer – Day 5

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom hamishi laOmer.

Today is day 5 of the Omer.

Hod be Khesed – Gratitude within kindness; humility within love

We forget what to be grateful for. There are big issues to be dealt with – deadlines, finances, housework, assignments, and so much more. So, we worry and we fret and we forget that there are miracles. Someone I love being alive for another day is a miracle. Being free of pain is a miracle. Having medications that remove pain is also a miracle. Someone smiling at me, someone saying hello, someone holding me – these are all miracles of kindness. I forget, and then something happens and I realize how small and unimportant it all is. All that matters is the love we share, and the few brief snatches of kindness we can offer each other in the midst of the short, crazy whirlwind that our lives consist of. When I remember, I feel grateful for what I have – I know it’s just mine for the moment, and I may as well appreciate it as a kindness from God.

My mother-in-law whom I love very much is ill with metastatic cancer. She is a strong beautiful woman who shares love and kindness with every action she takes. I am grateful to have had her in my life.

Posted on April 28, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

