Omer – Day 4

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheynu Melekh ha-olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’zivanu al s’firat haOmer.

Blessed be the Eternal God, Ruler of the universe, who makes us holy through Mitzvot and has commanded us to count the Omer.

Hayom yom revi’i laOmer.

Today is day 4 of the Omer.

Netzakh be Khesed – Power within kindness; conquest within love

It’s about self-care, this day – at least for me. I try to take care of myself, but it’s the first thing to go when times get busy and when I get overwhelmed. I start saying, “I’ll journal later.” “Who needs sleep?” “I need a treat to keep going.” I let my yetzer ha-ra run wild, and ignore any limits on bad habits. Hey, I’m under a lot of pressure right now, you know. I waste more time than I would have engaging in basic acts of self-care. The conquest I need is conquest over panic, over poor decision making, over my addictive time-wasting behaviours. The power I need is the power to make kind choices, not just for others but for myself as well. Today, I will strive to put my needs ahead of whims or panic. That would be a true victory of love.

Posted on April 27, 2016, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

