Counting the Omer – Day 48

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day forty eight, which is six weeks and six days of the Omer. Hayom yom arbaim ve shmone she hem shisha shavuot ve shisha yammim laOmer.

Today is Yesod be Malkhut, intimacy within nobility, family within presence.

I happen to like Mary Poppins. I’ve read the book, seen the movie, and gone to the play, and I like them all – although there are slightly dreadful bits. One of them in the movie is the father, Mr. Banks, singing ‘I’m the king of my castle,’ in which he describes his relationship to the people in his home as one of a lord over underlings. He isn’t the kind of king I think of God as being either. He alternates between ignoring people and bossing them around, never listening and having ridiculous expectations. I picture God in the opposite way. God never ignores and listens closely to our prayers. God provides sensible choices but allows people to make mistakes. God expects us to be no more and no less than we can.

If I take Mr. Banks’s suggestion at face value, then I am a queen in my castle in my house. It’s true that I have a responsibility to take care of and guide kids and to be available to the people I live with. However, I want to be a queen like God is king, not like Mr. Banks. I want to guide rather than ordering, listen rather than ignoring, supportive rather than demanding. As the Omer count comes to an end, I want to show the people I’m closest to that I’ve learned something about relationships, and be the best leader I can be.

Today, we ensure that we meet our family responsibilities through appropriate leadership.

Posted on May 23, 2015, in Omer, Sivan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

