Counting the Omer – Day 46

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day forty six, which is six weeks and four days of the Omer. Hayom yom arbaim ve shesh she hem shisha shavuot ve arba’a yammim laOmer.

Today is Netzakh be Malkhut, victory within majesty, conquest within nobility.

What is a victory for royalty? Beating another country? Hmmm… I occasionally sign those online petitions. I know, I should be doing more important things, and no one ever listens, and …It’s probably a sign of dementia. Still, it’s one of the few things I can do to make this world’s politics and environment slightly less toxic. Anyway, this site asked for a personal message for this mayor, to support him in his battle against a polluting dangerous multinational corporation. I was thinking about what I wrote, and here – when we talk about victory the way God defines victory, for the powerful the way God defines power – here, maybe what I wrote applies. I wrote

“I picture a world filled with deserts and wasteland, a thin layer of sticky oil covering anything. I see fewer and fewer animals and plants growing in the world, until we become like wasp larvae, each in our own little cell, eating tasteless pre−digested pap (maybe some kind of yeast derivative) and living off of screens. Maybe I read too much science fiction − but I see the horrors of dystopian science fiction become reality day after day, and it scares me.

I also picture a greener world, where we live in balance with the earth around us, finding ways to make a living while also finding ways to live. I see us learning new powerful ways to gain the energy we need and build our world. I see equality, peace, joy, awareness spreading and filling our world.

The little decisions we make every day chose between these paths. Today, it is your choice. Please make the right one.”

Maybe God would see this mayor’s action as a victory of a leader.

Today, we take the small actions that may not accomplish much, but that are still victories of leadership.

Posted on May 23, 2015, in Omer, Sivan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

