Counting the Omer – Day 43

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day forty three, which is six weeks and one day of the Omer. Hayom yom arbaim ve shalosh she hem shisha shavuot ve yom ehad laOmer.

Today is Khesed be Malkhut, kindness within majesty, giving within nobility.

Today, I try to see the other as a reflection of self. I recognize that other people are not alien creatures from Mars, but people with needs and wishes, desires and hopes similar to my own. I use that recognition to see others as noble – worthy of respect and honour. I realize that when I’m with others, we are a group of people that can be described as nobility – not because we’re better than anyone else but because we have that responsibility – to do more, to think kinder, to work harder. Being noble, embodying Malkhut – to me that means working extra hard and holding more than I would otherwise, and when I recognize that others have burdens and responsibilities no lighter than my own and often heavier, then I can truly treat them with kindness.

Today, we recognize that others have challenges that are just as great and maybe greater than our own, and we treat them with kindness.

Posted on May 21, 2015, in Omer, Sivan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

