Counting the Omer – Day 33

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day thirty three, which is four weeks and five days of the Omer. Hayom yom shloshim ve shalosh she hem arba’a shavuot ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is Hod be Hod, gratitude within gratitude, thankfulness within thankfulness

I am grateful. I am grateful for the teens, who found a way to hold Lag BaOmer on 3 minutes notice (one pan, some sticks, paper from the recycling bin, marshmallows from the variety store, and presto! A bonfire.) I’m grateful that people still like my stories. I’m grateful that I can manage a classroom of kids, regardless of number or age, in almost any subject area. I’m grateful that I have so many activities I can enjoy and do enjoy. I’m grateful I can study piano, study Torah, study calculus…I’m grateful for good food and jigsaws, films and fantasy novels. I’m grateful for friends everywhere and family too. I’m grateful for the connections I make and the bridges I build. On a day like today, it is easy to be grateful.

Today, we express gratitude.

Posted on May 10, 2015, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

