Counting the Omer – Day 26

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day twenty-six which is three weeks and five days of the Omer. Hayom yom esrim ve shesh she hem shlosha shavuot ve hamisha yammim laOmer.

Today is Hod be Netzakh, gratitude within power, humility within victory.

Today, I evaluate myself honestly. There are strengths and victories. There are weaknesses and defeats. By looking at what I’ve accomplished, and how far I still have to go, I can let go of feeling sorry for myself or falsely proud. I can simply accept my place along the journey, and realize that acceptance and gratitude go hand in hand. I can remember that my victories are God given, and be thankful for what I *can* do. I can accept that my defeats and weaknesses are God-given too. To paraphrase a line from a good movie, God knows I’m bad at things, so I may as well be bad at them with style – and with humility.

Today, we win when we recognize where we are on our journey

Posted on May 3, 2015, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

