Counting the Omer – Day 23

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day twenty-three which is three weeks and two days of the Omer. Hayom yom esrim ve shalosh she hem shlosha shavuot vey shtey yammim laOmer.

Today is Gevurah be Netzakh, strength within power, might within victory.

Today, I’m thinking of the opposite of the goal in this day. I’m thinking of procrastination – the knowledge that you can’t succeed, and therefore there’s no point in getting started. This is the weakness within defeat – it can bring you down, and start a vicious cycle where one defeat leads to less willingness to start and that leads to a bigger defeat and then, well, there’s no point in even trying. Consumed by panic, one avoids doing anything. This, of course leads to nothing but defeat and weakness. So, today, I tell my mind to shut up. It doesn’t matter if I panic or if I think I’ll succeed or anything else at all whatsoever. The only thing that matters is that I start. I find the strength to start and realize I’m much more likely to get to victory that way than by procrastinating.

Today, we win by taking the first step, and the next and the one after that. We have the strength to keep going towards victory.

Posted on April 29, 2015, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

