Counting the Omer – Day 21

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day twenty-one which is three weeks of the Omer. Hayom yom esrim ve ehad she hem shlosha shavuot laOmer.

Today is Malkhut be Tiferet, majesty within beauty, nobility within grace.

I often wish I could draw. There are certain Omer counts that would be so much better done as pictures. For instance – there was one that had a conqueror on a horse. This one, I’d draw a beautiful queen, who uses her beauty as part of her ruling strategy. From Helen of Troy to Jadis in Narnia, from Grace Kelly through Diana, queens real and imagined have been finding majesty within beauty. Now, often, especially in stories, that majesty, and that beauty is misused. People died because someone was beautiful, people fought to possess a pretty face, people obeyed ridiculous commands because they were issued by someone who looked good. So maybe today is a day of caution – don’t misuse your beauty if you happen to be a queen! The thing is, most of us have no throne. I have none, but I do remember those years when I was pretty enough and young enough to rule through beauty. People did what I said because I was young and shapely. Did I use the power well? Who knows? That was many years ago. Now I have children with these powers. (Huh, I wonder if that makes me a queen-mother?) So, what is my beauty? The beauty of wisdom, of kindness, of capability – some of which I have and some of which I really should have done better with over the years. What is my majesty, and how am I misusing it? Well, there are always people who are attracted to me. If I take advantage of them and have them do things for me, out of their attraction, that’s not using my power well. If I treat them coldly, if I ignore their attraction – that doesn’t seem like a good use of my power either. I have to work to develop what beauty I can. I must also, regardless of the age I am work to ensure that when I rule, I bring joy to people. I can do that – give the opening that makes people smile. I can use the attraction people have to make others happy to see someone so beautiful, but caring towards them.

Today, we use the majesty of our beauty to bring joy to others – we aim for the kind of beauty that reflects off others faces, the kind of majesty that rules through love.

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Iyar, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

