Counting the Omer – Day 11

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day eleven which is one week and four days of the Omer. Hayom yom ahad-es’re she hem shavua ehad ve arbaa yamim laOmer.

Today is Netzakh be Gevura, conquest within strength, power within limits.

This is such a ridiculous thing for a middle aged mom to think about! This sounds like a dude in a chariot with this huge army streaming behind him! “All that I see before me is now mine!” Boundaries of countries should be involved. Instead, the only boundaries I face are those of time and my own frailty. Conquest has to be squeezing one more task into a busy day, forcing myself to do one thing better than I did yesterday. I have strengths – there are things I am good at. I have to use those strengths as my armies and use them to conquer the challenges I face. Yes, I am limited, but within those limits, I have enormous power.

Today, we marshal our strengths to triumph over our greatest enemies – lack of willpower and lack of time.

Posted on April 16, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

