Counting the Omer – Day 9

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day nine which is one week and two days of the Omer. Hayom yom tesha she hem shavua ehad vey shtey yamim laOmer.

Today is Gevura be Gevura, strength within strength, might within might.

I had a kid in my class who would say in a firm and slightly indignant tone, “this is completely impossible!” when asked to do something like fill out another worksheet or zip up his coat zipper. Who knows, maybe for him, at that moment, it was. However, maybe it wasn’t. Remembering how hard I encouraged him, how swiftly I set aside his ‘impossible’ and worked for making it possible instead, I do the same thing in my own life. “I don’t have time for this activity. I am no good at this task. I have not succeeded in this over the last so many years. These are impossible!” I listen to myself say these words with the same gentleness, humour and utter determination to prove me wrong that I showed my student. I will try to do up that zipper one more time. I will go deeper and find the strength within the strength, I’ll get help from those better than me, I’ll rely on God, but I will not give up. Maybe, this is impossible. Maybe, on the other hand, it’s as easy as filling out a worksheet or doing up a zipper, and with a bit more effort, I will succeed.

Today, we reach for strength within strength to accomplish the impossible.

Posted on April 13, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

