Counting the Omer – Day 8

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day eight which is one week and one day of the Omer. Hayom yom shmone she hem shavua ehad vey om ehad laOmer.

Today is Khesed be Gevura, kindness within strength, generosity within might.

This is the week of strength. Last week I got to work on caring for others. This week, I get to work on being determined, and pursuing my goals with strength and vigor. However, I have to remember not to step on everyone’s toes as I do so. That’s easy for me to do – I’m pretty single minded. Give me a goal and I’ll barrel towards it with no regard for the people in my midst. So the first day in my week of strength is a reminder to pay attention, to remember the caring work I’ve been doing all week and to be kind in what I do. I can use this kindness and generosity to help me in my strength and might, for recruiting the help of others never hurts, and most importantly, I can ensure I don’t hurt others with my abilities.

Today, we move forward towards our goals, using all our strength to move along our path but keeping an eye out for the ‘caution’ signs.

Posted on April 12, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

