Counting the Omer – Day 7

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day seven which is one week of the Omer. Hayom yom shev’I she hem shavua ehad laOmer.

Today is Malkhut be Khesed, majesty within love, dominion within generosity.

Noblesse oblige. That’s always what I think of when I come to this day. Pictures of fancy old-fashioned gowns and suits and gracious lords and ladies distributing alms to the grateful masses flash through my head. Then, I think – maybe some of them did it because they realized that their wealth and power gave them responsibility. What about me? Compared to so many in our world, I am wealthy and powerful. That means I am responsible. With a sigh, I accept that responsibility and look at a way I can act nobly – act to reduce injustice, increase success, advance capability for others. There are letters I could write, petitions I could sign, donations I could give, and places where I can simply be a witness, and make sure that injustice and need are at least seen even if I don’t have quite enough power to alleviate it.

Today, we look for ways to use our wealth and power to be kind to those whose needs exceed our own.

Posted on April 12, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

