Counting the Omer – Day 6

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day six of the Omer. Hayom yom shishi laOmer.

Today is Yesod be Khesed, connection within love, family within generosity.

Today, I realize I must have done something right. Today, as my children ran their first Passover Seder, and as I looked at all the ways they showed that they had learned from me, I was amazed. They kept many of my traditions and changed those that didn’t fit with ideals that matched the deepest part of what I wanted them to know. They were loving, kind and generous, inviting others into their lives, ensuring that everyone was welcome and happy. They cooked, set up and cleaned up, including others in all the steps of the process. They made ritual, and in so doing, they created magic. They sang songs from the holidays we’d shared, the musicals we’d watched together, the CD’s we’d listened to. They let others, including me, in and welcomed us. I was so proud of them. I am not going to claim any of that – it was all them – but I must have done something right for God to give me that gift.

Today, we build connection within our family and welcome others generously into the warmth and love we thus create.

Posted on April 11, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

