Counting the Omer – Day 5

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day five of the Omer. Hayom yom hamishi laOmer.

Today is Hod be Khesed, gratitude within love, acceptance within kindness.

Yay! Thank you, God, for kindness. Thank you, God, for people who are generous and sweet, who do unexpectedly nice things. Today, on my last day at a short-term contract, I got a thank you and a nice gift – it made me so happy! The overlap between gratitude and kindness, the way that gratitude feels kind and kindness results in feelings of gratitude – it makes my world a better place. It helps me to look back on the past with equanimity and acceptance – I may have made mistakes during my contract, I may have had my lazy, distracted, imperfect moments, but I did well. I can be happy about the way things went, accept what happened, and appreciate all that I gained.

Today, we are grateful for kindnesses we’ve been given. We realize that expressions of gratitude are, in and of themselves, kind.

Posted on April 10, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

