Counting the Omer – Day 1

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day one of the Omer. Hayom yom ehad laOmer

Today is Khesed be Khesed, compassion within compassion, kindness within kindness.

It’s easy to be kind to people who are nice. It’s harder to be kind to people who are – more difficult, people who make our lives difficult. When someone snaps at me, I can’t always stay calm and just accept it. I can’t always respond to nastiness with kindness – to think of a special gift or a friendly gesture. I need to remember, to take the time to to go deeper into myself, to realize that this person has reason for her nastiness or his poor behaviour. I may need to come up with some limits or boundaries to keep myself safe – I don’t need to endure mistreatment – but I need to aim for kindness within the kindness. When I do so, I find a tender place within myself, a compassion within compassion. It ends up being a kindness, to myself as much as to anyone else. Being kind and finding that it changes me – that is the kindness within kindness of today. Today, may you be granted kindness should you need it, and an opportunity to give it if you can..

Posted on April 6, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

