Counting the Omer – Day 2

Barukh ata Adonay, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam, asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonay our God, ruler of the universe, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is day two of the Omer. Hayom yom sheni laOmer.

Today is Gevura be Khesed, strength within love, limits within kindness.

Limiting my kindness sounds wrong. I want to say ‘yes’ to the requests, and give people what they ask for. It takes a lot of strength to say no. As a mom, though, it’s the kindest, most loving action I can take sometimes – to say, “no, I won’t help you – I believe in you and know you can do it yourself.” It’s horrid. I hate doing it, and I hate watching my little ones cry. Sometimes, my friends and loved ones accuse me of being unloving and unkind when I say ‘no’ to them. “They are right,” I think to myself. And yet, there’s day 2 of the omer. I remind myself that strength is needed within love, and use the strength I have to stick to my limits and to continue to love others and myself despite what anyone might say.

Today, we remember that sometimes the kindest action is to not give in to unhealthy requests.

Posted on April 6, 2015, in Nissan, Omer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

